Kiteboarder / Instructor/ Company Owner, La Ventana, Mexico

Kris Kinn was my kite boarding instructor, and her dedicated water training and no-nonsense attitude had me following rules I normally choose to ignore. I know very little about Kris’s life goals and inspirations, but after a quick google search, it became clear that I needed to share her story here.

1. Where is your hometown?

I grew up in a small town on Lake Erie called Angola, about 30min south of Buffalo, NY

2. What was the journey like to get where you are (career wise)?

I've been kiteboarding now for almost 11 years, and at first it was all about the adventure of traveling and riding in new locations around the world. Slowly as I became a better rider competing became my main focus.Throughout my entire career, keeping up with media and self promoting through photography and videography was always a huge interest of mine and I've learned a lot. It has been an amazing journey! These days I spend most of my time teaching, and while I still enjoy competing, its no long my main focus. Teaching others to enjoy this amazing sport has become my passion. 

3. Biggest accomplishment since making a move?

I suppose that would be opening my own school in the last few years back home. Its called Lake Erie Kiteboarding, I've worked hard getting it up and running and I'm starting to see it really have an influence in my area getting more and more people out on the water.

4. What was the greatest disappointment and plan to overcome it?

I once tried to open up a school in another country, without proper support from the local infrastructure. It failed before it even got started and I had to regretfully walk away. I still think about going back one day and trying again. 

5. Advice to other women?

If I could give my younger self advice, it would be to take care of yourself in the best way possible, and keep yourself in the best shape possible and train as smart as possible in wherever your passions may take you. Keep it fun, when it becomes all work, its not fun anymore. Take risks, a lot of risks.

6. Where in the world do you feel "tallest"?

Being around the special people in my life, it doesn't matter where I am in the world.

7. What is the future goal/challenge (career goals in 5-10 years)?

I'm just trying to stay happy and healthy and enjoy life to the fullest with as many of the special people in my life.

8. What fears are you still hoping to overcome?

I really don't feel like I have fears to overcome, haha. Besides basic fears of hurting myself, and that could be prevented by keeping myself in the best shape possible. 

9. What inspires you?

Seeing others doing what they love and inspiring others!

10. Where can others find you/your work (links to websites, blogs, etc)